The Lagos State Pension Reform Law


The Lagos State Pension Reform Law 2007 was signed into law on 19th March 2007. It established for the Public Service of Lagos State, a Contributory Pension Scheme for the payment of retirement benefits of employees in the service to whom the scheme applies. The scheme covers all pensionable employees in the Public Service of the State, employees of Local Government Councils, Tertiary institutions and all Parastatals established by the State Government. LASPEC (Lagos State Pension Commission) is a government parastatal, established in 2009 to help with the policy of securing the future of employees in the public service of Lagos state.